Week 2 Savor the Oneness

Week 2 Savor the Oneness

I have been hearing this for years and years now, “we are all one”.  I remember being in Church and hearing Omnipotent, Omnipresent, Omniscient, and getting it, well not really if I am honest.

Diving into the Master Keys has been clarifying.  I finally understand the oneness that we are.  I mean,  if God or the Universe (or whatever word empowers you), is everwhere, everything, than how can we be seaparate?  But not only separate for ourself, but separate from every other living thing.  So we are connected to this “mysterious” mind as Og says, but at first I heard that to mean we humans, but it is more than that.  It is everything with life.  That means, plants, bugs, snakes, eww ick, but ok.  Everything, mean everything.  It is the plants, the animals, it is the person that scares you, the person you don’t know, it is your lover.  Everything, everyone, everywhere!

This has been such an eye opening experience that I can only explain as the world occurs new. This “new” world has made me recognize just how much judgement I have about everything and everyone.  I do not know about you, but I have noticed that the majority of my judgements are not all warm and fuzzy, they are negative.  Prior to this I really related to myself as quite a positive person.  WOW, nope!  If I had to put a percentage to it, I would have to say more like 60/40 or maybe even 70/30.

We all know that we have thoughts flowing through our mind all the time, and when you begin to take notice what those thoughts really are it can be shocking, at least it was for me.

As a Performance Coach I got really interested on how this impacted my performance and the performance of my clients.  So it is interesting.  No matter who it is, from the most successful to the start up, the thoughts we have impact our performance, from the beliefs that we have to just the simplicity of taking actions or not.

So what I am challenging myself and my clients to is just to notice the negativity in our speaking and thinking and in that moment to do something to cancel the thought and change it.  For myself I like a good physical shake of my body, as if I am shaking it out my fingertips.  For some it will be thinking of something that feels good, or watching a silly cat video (you know the ones all over Facebook). Whatever it is to alter your thinking in the moment.

There is science behind this.  Shawn Achor, Author and Harvard Professor on Positive Psychology says “You have to train your brain to be positive just like you work out your body”.

Previously, science believed that our brains were more of a fixed way.  So you were unable to change it.  Science now shows that our brains are malleable, so just like Shawn says, you can train your brain to positive, which should be great news for all of us.

So here is to a week of altering my neurons to be positive and to leave the negative judgements behind and to allow myself to smile and acknowledge people for the beautiful wonder they are.  After all if they are a beautiful wonder full of life, well then so am I!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Week 2 Savor the Oneness

  1. I like the mental picture of “shaking it out my fingertips” when a negative thought enters. I know I certainly have my fair share during the course of the day. I look forward to seeing how this works for me. That’s for the advice.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Georgiana, i had the exact same realization this week- seeing my negative thoughts for the first time. I am such a positive person to all who know me, but not to myself!! I may choose this subject to write about this week, as you have. I am finding that taking a step back and seeing myself with a detached view is really helping. Thank you for this!

    Like

  3. You have a great way of painting word pictures to express feelings you are going through! I have also been thought of as a positive person to others, but have given myself “bad press.” Thank you for sharing your helpful insights!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

